Christmas vacation and a Happy New Year!

Standard

Well, we hope it will be happy anyway!  It’s hard to believe it’s really 2013 (ha, I just typed 2012 and had to fix it).  The Mayans were wrong after all.  Hooray!

Over the holidays we were once again able to spend some much needed time with our families.  We met more family members (new babies!) and got to see how much the other babies had grown since our last visit.  I just can’t get enough of all of the nieces and nephews and Trey was excited to see them all as well.  He even wanted to take baby Hudson home with us and have him be “our baby”.  🙂  He also told me, out of the blue at a basketball game (of all places), that he wanted to baby brother or sister and that “if you don’t get pregnant in the next year we should adopt.”  Ha!  That boy of ours seems to have a plan.

photo (2)

While we were away, I also celebrate my 30th birthday.  I was a little sad but I got pampered at the spa like never before and enjoyed every second of my special day.  I’m so blessed with an amazing family that is so loving, supportive and encouraging.  They take such care of me!  The poor hubby was still in Boston working but he gave me the most thoughtful, precious gift before we left.  I love that man so much.  As I sit here writing this, I think of how I had high hopes of getting out and running errands today but my plans have been dashed by the comfort and warmth of the cashmere bathrobe my sweet, sweet husband gave to me.

IMG_5085

In many ways, Christmas this year was like so many before.  Filled with fun, precious time with loved ones, and yummy food.  Since my daddy got sick seven years ago, I have come to cherish family time in a way I don’t think I ever would have otherwise.  Holidays with family are so, so special to me.  Many people like to branch off and do their own thing with their spouse and children (once the kids do come along) on Christmas Eve or morning and make their own traditions.  There may be a time for us to do that in the future, but for now, I can think of nothing I would rather do than celebrate the birth of Christ our Savior with the ones who taught my husband and me about and raised us to believe in that Savior.  Our Christmas traditions are being with our families on Christmas and I feel so grateful and blessed that we are able to do that.

Christmas morning with my boys….
IMG_5133

Just look at that smile, and that was before we opened presents!

IMG_5135

Trey and Meriel patiently waiting on me to finish getting ready so they could come downstairs!

IMG_5090

Ace and Coco!

IMG_5111

Trey and Nana
IMG_5129

Trey thanking Uncle Adam and Clair for his gift.  We love you Clair!!!!   Oh, you too Adam.  🙂

IMG_5140

My sweet mom.  Isn’t she just so cute?

IMG_5144

One response »

  1. So sweet. We enjoyed seeing you guys at Christmas. Benjamin really liked playing with Trey. Hope you’re all doing well.

Leave a Reply

