let me count the ways…

Standard

There are just so many things that I love about homeschooling that I couldn’t even begin to list them all.  Yesterday, as we were getting lunch ready, it once again struck me how blessed I am to have some of these simple moments at home with my child.  He wanted mac-and-cheese (Annie’s gluten free of course!) and I said go for it.  He only needs help carrying the pot to the sink to drain the noodles.  The rest is all him!

I have been blessed enough to be able to stay at home and take care of my sweet family.  Our family is small but there’s still lots of things that have to be done and when Trey was in school, school time was the time I got most of it done.  Now that we are homeschooling, traditional “school time” is still when l get most of housework get done.  The great thing about it though, is that Trey is here now, knows how to do it, and can help.  He likes to vacuum, mop, separate and put clothes in the washer, empty trash cans, and take the sheets off the beds.  While dishes and putting away folded clothes isn’t his favorite, he still gets it done.  One time last year he was taking laundry from the washer and putting it in the dryer and he said, “Uh mom, do NOT tell me you put something red in here with these lights!”  Oh how that child makes me laugh.

Could I have taught him these things even if he was in school, you ask?  Of course.  Would I have….probably not.  It was just easier to do it in the middle of the day on my own.  Sometimes it does take longer because I have to teach and sometimes go back and correct or redo, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  It is a joy.  Most of the time when he is doing chores, he is singing to the Lord or reciting his Bible verses or geography songs we’ve learned together.  Ha, half the time he’s doing school work he is singing praises to the Lord (we take random singing and dancing breaks).  Would that happen if he was in school?  Now that’s just a silly question.

4 responses »

  1. Thankful that our grandson has the best teacher in the whole world- one who loves him unconditionally and takes the time to teach him both the big and small lessons. I pray that his life will be filled with singing praises to the Lord and dancing in His presence! Thanks for all you do for Him, Jeffrey and Trey- we are all truly blessed to have you in our lives!

Leave a Reply

