“My certain hope is in Jesus found….”

Standard

This morning at church a friend was asking about how homeschooling was going.  She asked, “Is it as wonderful as you make it sound?  Surely there must be hard days.”  She is so right!  There are most definitely hard days, but as I told her, those are becoming less frequent.  I was talking about how things have seemed somewhat better recently….. and then I go down to find my child in the game room screaming at the others there.  Those are the moments that my heart just sinks and I’m instantly thrown into frustration and confusion all the while trying to gauge how to respond.  I think, “Oh no, not again.  Please God, no!”   I wonder where I went wrong and what I can do differently to make him understand that these things are just not ok.  Not healthy.

We are so blessed with an amazing church family.  I feel like God put us there for a reason.  Although I’m sure they have to get tired of it sometimes, they are amazing.  I’m never made to feel bad when issues arise (although it is incredibly embarrassing) but I feel supported and loved.  I’m so thankful to those who come alongside me and are able to calm and comfort both Trey and myself in those tough moments.  To give me a hug and reason through something with Trey when it feels like I’m about to crumble and my precious child already has.

One of the songs we sang in church this morning was new to me but I found it to be comforting.  A reminder of God’s love and faithfulness.  The chorus goes….

In the harvest feast or the fallow ground,
My certain hope is in Jesus found
My lot, my cup, my portion sure
Whatever comes, we shall endure

We all have those moments of despair.  When we begin to question just about everything….or maybe that is just me!  I’m trying harder these days to not immediately turn towards the negative but remember the hope that Jesus provides us.  I love the chorus of this song because it is a truth that spoke to me today and I needed to hear it!

When things are going great or horribly, I can remember Jesus.  He is my hope.

God will provide.

And  no matter what happens, God will help me through it.  He has and he is….

Wow, isn’t that comforting?  Our God truly is amazing!  Thank you all for your prayers and support.  It is such a blessing to us and one of the ways that God is helping us to endure…..

3 responses »

  1. Learning to both “rest” and “hope” in Him- probably not lessons you will learn in public school. But certainly lessons we need for life! Trey is blessed to be learning with and from you academics and how to walk with and trust in the Lord! Continuing to claim that “God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” 2 Corinthians 9:8

Leave a Reply

