I am blessed and thankful…..

Standard

This week I have felt incredibly thankful for my husband.  For what we have.  That we are in love and strong and committed to one another.  It’s easy to get caught up in the day-to-day issues and sometimes it helps when things are thrown back into perspective and you can truly see what is most important.

Last week’s sermon was on divorce.  Not the “divorce is evil and you are horrible if you do it” type sermon but what the bible really says on it.  It was great and I actually learned a lot.  On top of that, we found out this week that several couples we know have split up.  People we know,who seemed so good together, some seemed so happy together.  This can shake you.  Understandably, all marriages go through good times and bad; it’s in the vows.  And Jeffrey and I have certainly had our out-right bad times.  But through our relationships with God that have taught us love, grace, forgiveness and commitment, here we are about to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary in a few months.

I’m not saying we have it all right because we are far from it and I’m not condemning others…..I am simply thankful.  Thankful that God chose us for each other and that my husband loves me and I love him.  Thankful that we have shining examples of what a solid, loving marriage is like in both of our parents.  That we can appreciate each other and forgive.  Thankful that we provide the other with support and encouragement.  That we are committed.  That we can talk to each other and work on things instead of ignoring them and letting hard feelings fester.

With all of the other chaos surrounding our lives right now, my marriage seems like even more of a blessing.  A quiet place……and I like that.  I am thankful to God, to my husband and to all of those who have supported and encouraged us in our marriage over the years.  Thank you.

One response »

  1. We are thankful for you! Thankful that y’all have grown together through the hard times and continue in love, grace and forgiveness! Love you lots!

Leave a Reply

