A little bit of homeschooling….

Standard

First of all I have to say thank you to everyone who has been praying for us.  We really appreciate all of the support and encouragement we have gotten from all of you.  It is wonderful to know that we have people out there praying for our precious child!

I am really loving homeschooling.  Some days are more trying for sure, but overall I’m having a blast with my little man.  The last week has been a great one for Trey.  He’s had a few minor upsets but was able to overcome them fairly quickly.  I’m still having some trouble figuring out why something will upset him one day but not the next and even why he’s been able to calm himself down more quickly the past week…but I sure am thankful for it!

We have a meeting at the school he was attending next Tuesday to discuss the results of all the testing he has done.  I’m not sure if I mentioned that, although we are homeschooling, the school system is still required (if we want them to) to do testing and provide services to children if they qualify.  I am interested in what they have to say but anxious as well.  I guess we’ll see…

I’ve discovered the website Teachers Pay Teachers and it has become a dangerous place for me!  Thankfully there are tons of great freebies and I have found so many resources out there.  We are starting a “Holidays Around the World Unit” this week that I’m really looking forward to and so is Trey!  I’ll try to snap a few pics of all of that fun.  In the meantime, here are a few pictures from before Thanksgiving.

From “The Ugly Pumpkin” Literacy Unit.  We already had the book so I was so excited to find this unit.  It was also a great way to get Trey to talk about his feeling through text-to-self connections.

Mayflower cause and effect center.

This was super fun and went great with this book that I adore.  Trey was begging for me to read it to him!

Oh and I love the fact that we can wear our pajamas all day if we choose to.  And, apparently Darth Vader toboggans as well… Here he’s watching a BrainPopJr. video.  Such a neat site!

And in the time since I started writing this post a few hours ago, it’s gone from a few minor upsets and quick recoveries to….  sigh.  Lord, give my child peace and me patience!

I hope everyone has a blessed day!

One response »

  1. Praying for you and looking forward to your visit! Thanks for sharing- you are a great teacher and an excellent mom- we are all blessed to have you in our lives!

Leave a Reply

