The Greatest Day Ever…

Standard

As many of you have already gathered from Facebook statuses and my last post here, my little guy got baptized last week.  Even though you already know, I had to do a post just for it because it was such an incredible, amazing, wonderful day!

Trey told me about six months ago that he wanted to be baptized.  I will never forget that day in church when the children’s minister was up front talking about the upcoming baptisms at Easter and what it meant.  He tugged on my sleeve and said, “I want that mommy.  I want to be baptized.”  Our church only does them every six months or so and we decided to wait and talk some things over with Trey.  While we have had some struggles the past few months, one thing that hasn’t changed is Trey’s decision on this.  He has had such a strong desire for this and I am so thankful to God.

At our church the people who are getting baptized have to get up in front of the church and tell why they want to be baptized.  He told me what he wanted to say the night before and I wrote it down for him but he wanted to keep what was written a secret until he got up there.  With all that has been going on, I’ll just say that I was a little concerned about this part (and I know I wasn’t the only one!) so there was a lot of prayer for strength and courage!  I have never seen my child so confident and my heart was literally overflowing with joy.  My little guy marched himself up to that stage all by himself and announced to all who could hear, “I want to be baptized because I love Jesus and to help me remember that God is with my all the time.”  What a gift from God and even more proof that God is truly at work!  Wow!  Then he just looked over at me and grinned the sweetest smile I’ve ever seen as our church community cheered him on. It was just amazing watching him get baptized too.  Something none of us will ever forget!

Jeffrey’s parents and sister were able to come for Trey’s baptism and we were so glad to have them there.  Sadly, since my dad is still in the middle of his cancer treatment, my parents couldn’t make it….but we sent them the videos!  If you haven’t seen the videos on my facebook page you should really check them out but here are a few pictures from this special day.

Don’t you just love the face?  I love how our church invites people (especially children) down to the front to watch.

Look at that sweet face.  He was SO joyful that day!  I remember him skipping down the sidewalk too, so excited!

Loving on Coco afterwards….and look how proud Daddy is!

and now Ace’s turn….

It was a day for celebration and that we did!  Afterwards we went to Trey’s favorite place for lunch….

“Sing to Him, sing praises to Him; speak of all His wonders … ”   1 Chronicles 16:9

“Therefore I will give thanks to You, O LORD, among the nations, and I will sing praises to Your name …”     2 Samuel 22:50

Leave a Reply

