My Daddy….

Standard

I’ve been putting off this post simply because it is so difficult.  Many of you know my father’s amazing story, but for those of you who don’t, here’s the short version….

It’s been just over six years now since my daddy was diagnosed with Stage IV cancer.  No chemo or radiation or surgery was done, he was told to get his affairs in order.  Then something amazing happened….God took my parents on an incredible adventure.  My dad sought alternative treatments and four years later, much to the astonishment of his doctors, my daddy was healed!

We feel so blessed for this time with him that God has given us.  Trey was only one when dad first got sick and it was frightening to all of us that Trey wouldn’t remember him.  In the past six years our whole family has learned and grown so much.  I have grown closer to my dad and Trey has oodles of memories with his Doc and we are counting on many more.  My parents learned to trust God in all things and that each day is a blessing.  Nothing should be taken for granted.  I have learned how strong my dad is and how living out his faith in God and sharing his knowledge and beliefs has made a difference in the people around him.  When I talk about my dad, many people say that they would be falling apart.  I do that sometimes, but there are two things that provide me with strength…..my dad’s positive attitude and unwavering faith that God is in control and my own relationship with our Heavenly Father.  I’m not tooting my own horn here, but trying to show how amazing our God is!

As you have probably guessed by now, my dad’s cancer is back and in full force.  Today they start on another journey to fight this horrible disease.  I can only hope and pray that God will grant him favor once again and heal him.  I have faith and know it can be done…..it’s already happened once! Daddy starts what will end up being several months of treatment first thing Monday morning.  We pray for health and many more years with him.  I ask you to keep both of my parents and his doctors in your prayers.

“O Lord my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me.”                             Psalm 30:2

“Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress;he sent out his word and healed them, and delivered them from destruction. Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love, for his wonderful works to humankind.”                           Psalm 107:19-21

“A cheerful heart is a good medicine, but a downcast spirit dries up the bones.”                                   Proverbs 17:22

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

