Another Goodbye

Standard

This past week was a very long and interesting one to say the least.  I am just so thankful to have such supportive friends and family.  I cannot thank everyone enough for all of the thoughts and prayers.  It means a lot to me.   I am sorry if this post seems to ramble but there has been a lot going on since my last post.

Unfortunately we had another goodbye to say this past week.  This one was to my grandfather, Papa Jack.  He was very loved and will most certainly be missed but we know that he is in a better place now.  Knowing that, we tried to make things more of a celebration of my grandfather’s life….and that we did.  I hate that it was under there circumstances but it was great to see some old friends and family that we haven’t seen in a while.  I feel like I learned a lot about my family and my grandfather.  I heard some great stories about Papa Jack I had never heard before.

I also learned a lot about my dad.  I have loved seeing God work in his life the past couple of years both spiritually and physically.  It is amazing to me the strength that he has!  To see him go from being told he could only have a few months to live, to fighting for his life, to truly putting all of his faith in God and being cured of his cancer has been amazing to say the least.  I think that it was his attitude that really made this past week much easier for me.  So thank you Dad for being who you are letting God work through you.

I’ve also been extremely grateful for Jeffrey’s parents as well.  Jeffrey has only been gone to Boston for a week now and I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t call Shirley on the phone just because I’m scared or lonely and just want to say hello.  I call her with my worries only to feel silly about them when I hang up because she is always quoting the exact bible verse I need to hear at that moment in time.  I know I haven’t always made it easy for them but they love me anyway and are never afraid to show it.

I’m sitting here crying as I write this because the past week, though rough, in a strange way has made me feel more loved and blessed than I have ever felt before.  I have an incredible husband, a precious son, a loving and supportive family, encouraging friends and a God who loves me more than I can ever imagine.

These are the pictures from our celebration of the life of David Jackson Evans

Mom and Adam and Dad and Me (with Trey passed out in my lap!)

My cousin Lauren, Uncle David, Aunt Melody and my Dad —Nana and Mom

Leave a Reply

